Mr. & Mrs.

I alluded to this fun and easy project I finished Sunday night in my Weekend Wrap-Up.  So far this project ended up being one of my favorites to date. First, I picked up some plain cardboard letters from Hobby Lobby along with some white paint. Then I went to Jo-Ann fabrics and stumbled across some fabulously ugly birds that were 40% off. You see an ugly bird? I see a painting opportunity!

My supplies:

20120220-231557.jpg

After about 5 coats of acrylic paint, (I learned quickly that cardboard absorbs paint like crazy) the letters achieved the perfect shade of white.

Next, I took some felt that I had lying around and made some circles.

20120220-231939.jpg
Supplies: felt, scissors, and tacky glue. I like to use clear because it’s not noticeable if the glue leaks over on the sides of the felt. Mistakes happen, it’s up to you to take the proper precautions. 😉

20120220-232137.jpg

The first step was to cut the felt into long strips. I didn’t measure because I’m not a measuring kind of gal. I usually fly by the seat of my pants and it works or as Tim Gun say, I “make it work.” That, or I have probably inadvertently taught my neighbor a few new swear words. 😡

20120220-232543.jpg

Next you take your felt and start rolling. The secret is to roll tightly, especially at first. You also want to draw a thin line of glue down the strip. I used one felt strip for the smaller circles and put two together for the larger circles.

20120220-232741.jpg

Line up the end of one strip with the beginning of another and continue to glue, glue, glue.

20120220-232911.jpg

This is what you end up with: easy peasy.

20120220-232953.jpg

Finally, I decided to add some pearl stickers to the center of each circle.

20120220-233134.jpg

Time to glue some of these bad boys together. This is where you bring out the big guns, errr hot glue guns. I made sure to glue along the seam where the felt strip ends on each circle because doing so hides the seams.

Next up: accent love birds.

20120220-233437.jpg

Supplies: Two cheap birds, paint, paint brush, and gloss varnish.

At JoAnn’s I purchased 5 sets of these birds because they were $2 and then spilt them up and painted half gray and the other half yellow.

The final product will sit in front of us a the King’s Table which like a head table, but it also includes family, so our parents will sit with us, and people sit on BOTH sides; except for right in front of us (according the owner of our venue).

To further illustrate my point here is a picture of a King’s Table:

(Source) 

20120220-234057.jpg

This is the final product and I really like how it turned out.  I am hoping that I will find a place for it in our new apartment.  Gray and yellow have quickly become my favorite color combination so I do no think I will have a problem finding a spot for this once we are actually a Mr. & Mrs. 😀

That is one of my projects from the weekend; and I love how they turned out. Did you tackle anything crafty this weekend?

6 Comments

Filed under crafts, DIY, wedding, wedding DIY

6 responses to “Mr. & Mrs.

  1. These are absolutely adorable! Bravo! I really wanted to do the oversized letter/monogram thing, too and didn’t! I love those fabric flowers. DARLING!!

  2. Kathleen these are soo good! Love the colors! I wish I was even a bit “artsy.” Even if someone gave me step by step directions, I would still manage to screw it up somehow. haha

  3. Julia- Thanks so much! I’m sure you could manage something crafty, the secret is to make something like this, it looks like it took a lot more work then it actually did! LOL 😀

  4. Pingback: Sunday night DIY | Love and Sapphire

  5. Pingback: St. Paddy’s Headband | Love and Sapphire

Leave a Reply

