Before and After- or how I lost almost 100lbs

I have mentioned it a few times, but I have never shown you pictures or gone into much detail about my weight loss.  Growing up I would say it’s safe to say that I was a little chubby.  I also grew pretty fast (I have been 5’9 since about 7th grade) so I always just looked “bigger” then all the other kids.  Then I discovered sports.  I played basketball and volleyball in grade school, and in high-school I played tennis.  I also worked-out regularly.  Nothing too intense, but at 5’9 and 158 I was pretty happy with myself.

College came and went and I can safely say I didn’t gain the dreaded “Freshman 15” like many others.  The weight started to creep up on me a little, but it didn’t really hit until my first year as a post-graduate.  By December 2007 I was working a job that I hated and I had just gotten out of a bad relationship.  I was also living with my parents and literally had one friends in Chicago.  All my friends moved around the globe after graduation and, to be honest, I was just sad and lonely. The one friend I did have in Chicago I did not really want to see.  I just wanted to sit in my room, with my new dog, and be sad… and eat fast food.  Buddy and I watched the entire season of Gilmore Girls together and shared way too many meals from Panada Express.  I also quit my first job out of college because I interviewed at another company and thought I was a shoe-in.  I ended up not getting the job and my nights of tv watching and fast food eating continued.

In the Spring I finally had a job prospect and it was time to take off those damn sweatpants and pick out a cute outfit to wear to my interview.  The job was being a store manager of a small boutique on the North Shore of Chicago.  I went to my closet and looked at all my cute clothes and tried to put on a pair of black work pants that I wore regularly just months ago.  I couldn’t even get them past my thighs. It embarrasses me to even admit that.  I had to make a stop to Old Navy, the only store that I knew of that carried larger sizes, and bought my first pair of size 22 pants.  It was probably one of my lowest points; that and realizing I had tipped the scale at 260 lbs.  I did end up getting the job and worked there for almost a year until the owner decided to close the boutique.

In Fall of 2008 I met Jonathan.  I had also dieted for a few months and lost 10 lbs.  I think I may have told him I lost 20 and that was for two reasons. The first being just to impress him and the second was to partially tell myself that I wasn’t this fat girl the rest of the world saw.  That was just my outside, and inside there was a skinny and healthy girl ready to break free.  I remember the first time I met Jonathan, I knew he was the one.  I know it sounds stupid and it’s thing that people say in movies and fairy tales; but hey, I’m getting married at the end of April so I’d say my hunch was pretty accurate!  🙂 We were together a few months and then Halloween came.  We went to a party at one of his friends houses (dressed as hillbillies) and it was so fun!  I loved meeting new people and I realized I had a lot in common with these folks. And then reality struck the next day.

Pictures of the night before were uploaded to facebook.

I was still huge weighing in at 250.  92lbs more pounds on my body then my freshman year of college.  I was also bigger then my boyfriend; and that did not fly with me.

Two days later, on my way to work (after eating a sausage biscuit from McDonald’s) I heard an ad on the radio.  That’s when I made a personal decision to start weight watchers.  The first week went well, but to be honest: I did the program half-ass that winter.

I would say that my epiphany moment was when Jonathan and I went for a walk in a beautiful forest preserve by our apartment (we had moved in together by this point).  I could barely keep up with him and was out of breath way too easily.  That’s when I realized I needed to lose weight, but not for vanity purposes; for health reasons.  I walked almost every damn day that summer and followed weight watchers religiously.  The scale finally started to teeter down 230, 220, and 215 by that winter.  The holidays came and went and I said I would allow myself to enjoy the days (Christmas Eve/Day and New Years Day) not the entire holiday season.  Those few months I didn’t lose any more weight, but I didn’t gain any either.

In the following few months I was offered a job as a manager at a store for “Plus Size Women.”  I don’t want to blame the company, but when you are constantly being told by customers that are twice  your size that you have a remarkable body it makes it hard to see the end goal.  I didn’t stick to weight watchers like I did in the past but I did end up loosing a few more pounds and by that point and was finally under 200 for the first time in a long time!  I mainly attribute my weight loss to having to run around a store, climbing ladders, etc.  It was a constant workout.

I worked at that store for a few months but kept applying for jobs.  I didn’t want to stay in retail, I just took the job because the economy is in the crapper and beggars can’t be choosers.  By fall 2011 I was finally offered an office job and the company I now work for.  But the difference is that I would be sitting on my arse all day.  I quickly realized to continue to lose weight I would have to go back to sticking to weight watchers.  I was also newly engaged and with the promise of trying on dresses in the near future I made a promise to myself that on my wedding day I will be content with my body.

In addition to following the ww program, I also began to work out.  I started the program Couch to 5k and finished it.  Before work I ran about 3 to 4 miles an average of four times a week.  I also occasionally work-out in our apartment gym.  I completed my first 5k on Thanksgiving of 2011, quite an accomplishment for a girl who could barely walk a mile two years before.  I now just count my calories using a free app on my iPhone called MyFitnessPal.  I figure since I am so close to my goal weight spending the $20 a month on WW is something I’d rather save, especially so close to our wedding.  I also realize the aspect of what made WW successful for me is the tracking and keeping myself accountable.  So far MyFitnessPal seems to be doing just that for me.

I’m not going to pretend that I am an expert, or someone who doesn’t make mistakes.  I’m sure I can eat healthier, especially on the weekends. I do have an addiction to Diet Pepsi, but before I only drank soda, now I balance it out with a lot of water.  I am also beer and pizza kind of gal, and I am enjoying life now. I take it one day at a time and one meal at a time. As of today I am officially 96 lbs down and only 6 to go until my goal weight.  I am not sure if I will make it to 158 by April 28th, but you only get married once so I am going to enjoy myself. Along the same lines, I have learned a lot from my mistakes and I know when too much is just too much.

 

 

 

*This post is not sponsored by weight watchers or MyFitnessPall.  I have just personally had success using both programs.

 

I have decided to participate in Confessions of Snowflake weight loss wednesday.  Head over there for some encouraging words and links to other’s weight loss journey! 🙂

9 Comments

Filed under blogging, weight loss

9 responses to “Before and After- or how I lost almost 100lbs

  1. Thanks for sharing your success story!

  2. Congrats on the loss and the gain! You are a lot closer to your goal than I am. I look forward to joining you as a lifetime member before too long, however.

  3. Awe this is so amazing!! Congratulations in this wonderful accomplishment!!

  4. Crystal Brothers

    Congratulations!!! People with success stories like yours make it look “easy,” Simply because your before and after is there on the page and can be read in a minute or 2…it makes it feel easy. But as someone who has struggled with food addiction and weight issues for the past 6-7 years, I know all too well that it is not easy, it’s a huge accomplishment and something to be proud of! Go you!!!

    • Thanks so much! I know what you mean, this was a loooong process; and when people ask how I did it (even friends who don’t notice the weight loss because it was done gradually) I feel like they expect me to say there is some secret that will make you loose all the weight over night. There isn’t, although that would be nice! haha. 😉 Thanks for reading! 🙂

  5. sweetopiagirl

    Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

Leave a Reply

